Physician Referral 847.535.6171Main Telephone 847.234.5600patient scheduling 847.535.8000patient login
Healthcare Career Opportunities

Nursing Recognition

At Northwestern Lake Forest Hospital, we believe that exemplary nursing practice should be recognized and commended. One of the ways we recognize nurses takes place during our annual Nursing Week celebration.

The Nursing Excellence awards are the highlight of Nursing Week. All employees and physicians have the opportunity to nominate the nurse who best exemplifies the attributes of the American Nurses' Association Scope and Standards of Professional Practice. Recipients of these awards are recognized at a special ceremony with all nursing staff, family and friends; they also receive a plaque and individual scholarship award to be used for professional conferences, continuing education (CE) programs, books and journals.

The Jean Ewing Nursing Excellence Award, also known as Nurse of the Year, is also presented during Nursing Week to the nurse who best exemplifies all nine attributes. This award represents Northwestern Lake Forest Hospital's highest level of nursing excellence.

Nursing Week also includes recognition of those who have achieved and maintained specialty certifications throughout the year, as well as the Annual Nursing Mission and Vision "Speci" (Special Presentation of Excellent Caring Individuals) Cup Award Competition where units demonstrate nursing spirit.

Consumer Recognition

For the past nine years, a consumer study by National Research Corporation (NRC) named Northwestern Lake Forest Hospital the Consumer Choice Hospital for Lake and Kenosha counties for best doctors, best nurses, highest quality and image and most preferred for all health needs.  Read more about the award in the Consumer Choice Award press release.


Physician Opportunities

Physician opportunities within inpatient and ambulatory settings are available. Please contact Bobette Fluent at

Nursing Magnet Recognized and one of Working Mothers' Best 100 Companies
           Lantern Award Recipient 2014 - 2017